Today's crossword

Jul 22, 2022

Hey look, I said that I wouldn't just blog about crosswords but I also said that Friday crosswords just tend to be good. What can I say??? Plus, today's crossword had a FART in it.

Clues that delighted:

Answers that delighted:

Beyond the WHOOPEE CUSHION / FART theme, and despite the constructor explicitly intending this puzzle as themeless, I did notice some small reoccurrences. There's the WORK OF ART with the pearl EARRING (9D: Vermeer painted a girl with a pearl one). There are things to be HEFTED (26A: Weighed unscientifically), HOISTED (37D: Raised), and 43D: Put down (WRITE). There are SHOTS to be had by those who are ON THE TOWN. There are WHITNEY HOUSTON and OPRAH (47A: First Black female billionaire, informally), two entertainment giants. (8D: Brian who was a pioneer in ambient music) ENO doesn't count because he always shows up in crosswords. Your best friend, bless them, may love to tell stories that are UTTER BORES, during which they indignantly demand your attention: "LISTEN TO ME! SO THEN..." And finally, those at the ship YARD who have to RETIE sails must surely take a pause to greet each other with a congenial AHOY MATEY.

I do actually have an unprecedented type of comment, which is that I hated RAWR, especially with its clue 1A [Ooh, you're sexy!]. Maybe it's because I've spent too much time on Tumblr and in other spaces where "rawr :3" culture is everywhere, but seriously: who RAWRs at people??? How embarrassing.

send a comment