My computing setup

Nov 6, 2021

I spend my fair share of time cranking through theory, but I spend an equal amount of time coding quantitative computations, mucking with data, or (recently) even teaching online. My computing devices are a central determinant to not only my work's success, but also my happiness, since I spend so much time with them. I therefore approach choosing my setup with appropriate seriousness!

My current devices are not only frictionless to use, but also joyful. I do my work on two main devices: a large iPad Pro and a Mac mini desktop computer.

I bought the first generation iPad Pro soon after its release, taking an early adopter risk that paid off. The iPad is functional both as "digital replacement paper" in portrait orientation as well as a "light computer" in landscape orientation. The first use case is the real hero, though: it is a delight to read papers or work through theory with the iPad and its accompanying stylus. Eliminating paper from my life is a seemingly small benefit that has actually had a huge impact: the digital medium creates possibilities that couldn't be accomplished with physical paper. I never misplace my notes or have to rifle through physical copies of papers. Everything is instantly searchable, including handwritten annotations. I can open the same note in multiple windows, for example to conveniently reference an equation from an earlier page in one window while rewriting it with some substitution on a later page in another window. The stylus is infinitely precise, so I can easily add annotations in the tiniest available space by just zooming in. Finally, I can always use the iPad in landscape orientation to perform light computer tasks, like typing up documents, responding to emails, or managing my calendar. These activities are made even smoother with my external mouse and keyboard, which connect easily to the iPad, but I will talk more about those a bit later.

The Mac mini is the primary computing device of my setup, a role previously filled by my laptop until the laptop's screen physically separated from its body. Why did I replace it with a desktop instead of another laptop, when laptops ostensibly have the advantage of including peripherals (display, keyboard, and mouse) and being portable? As it turns out, the Mac mini does just as well, if not better, in all these areas for my context. For peripherals, I had already been using the laptop exclusively with my own external monitor, keyboard, and mouse, all of which I preferred to the built-in options by a landslide. Why purchase computing power bundled with peripherals that I wouldn't use when I could instead concentrate on more computing power? The Mac mini is also highly portable — I can easily slip the Mac mini in my regular bag, together with my keyboard and mouse, to bring with me to the office, a coffee shop, or on travel. The only seeming obstacle to portability was finding a display solution, which I remedied by simply using my iPad as the display with a pleasingly solid yet foldable stand. Why not, if I'm likely bringing my iPad with me anyway?

At first, I admit I was not sure if my Mac-mini-as-a-laptop-replacement scheme would work. However, after several months now of using it daily, I can confidently label the experiment a success. At home, I get the full desktop performance and experience. On the go, it takes one or two extra seconds to pack up (Mac, mouse, keyboard, iPad, and iPad stand), but the benefits far outweigh this cost. The setup is wonderfully modular, with all components working seamlessly together. I can use the iPad on its own as digital paper. I can pull out my mouse, keyboard, and stand to use the iPad like a light computer. If I need the desktop OS to do something more serious, like Julia development, I can just switch the iPad's screen to showing the Mac mini's display. As an additional underrated bonus, I use my own keyboard and mouse for everything, which I selected based on my own preferences, rather than default OEM parts.

Finally, I cannot overstate the ergonomic advantages of separating the display from the keyboard. By construction, a laptop must (nearly) attach them together. The implication of a laptop's clamshell design is that, if positioning the keyboard and trackpad adequately close to one's hands, the display is far too close to the eyes. Not only is it too close, but it is too far down, which would create tension as I craned my neck downward to see the display. Having physically separated all the components of my computer from each other, I can position each at a comfortable distance.

While this setup may not be for everybody, or indeed for most people, I wanted to share my strange solution in case it may be helpful to someone else. A mini-desktop-as-a-pseudo-laptop may appear at first glance like an unnecessary reinvention the wheel, but the modularity and personal customisability have made all the difference to me.

send a comment